​Seven new judges appointed to the Court of Appeal

14 October 2019

Author: Emma Duffy


Legislation introduced earlier this year, allowing the Court of Appeal to increase from 10 to 16 judges has finally come into effect, following sharp criticism from the Chief Justice of Ireland, Justice Frank Clarke. The appointments are welcomed as current waiting times for many cases to be heard by the Court of Appeal is two to three years.

The new appointees consist of four judges moving from the High Court to the Court of Appeal, namely, Mr Justice Seamus Noonan, Mr Justice Robert Haughton, Ms Justice Úna Ní Raifeartaigh and Ms Justice Mary Flaherty. This move creates a vacuum in the High Court and there is a need for new High Court Judges to be appointed.

The remaining three nominees are senior counsel nominated to the bench Ann Power SC, Brian Murray SC and Maurice Collins SC. With the exception of Maurice Collins SC, all of the other nominees are with immediate effect. Mr Collins SC nomination is on hold until 26th October 2019, when Mr Justice Michael Peart retires.